Writing Prompt: Starved


(The Depression) The Single Men's Unemployed A...

Image via Wikipedia

March of the Dispossessed

He walked out of the job centre through a group of youths. What a joke! All the qualifications and experience in the world couldn’t get you employed these days. He’d been searching for six months and not even a reply.

The crowd was a regular sight around the centre. People huddled there in the cold waiting to see their employment advisors. Some of them were half-starved, barely keeping their head above water.  Others had just left school. They all had the same look in their eyes. That `the economy’s gone to hell; I won’t be getting paid anytime soon.’ look.

My entry for this months writing prompt at: Velvet Verbosity

Click here to read my poem of the same title: March of the Dispossessed

13 thoughts on “Writing Prompt: Starved

  1. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  2. I have been thinking a lot about the echos of my grandparents’ youth these days. I think it would be daunting to be 20 … but there are always opportunities … for the brave/fearless …

    Perfect use of the word starved, and food for thought.

  3. The juxtaposition of the photo and the current situation was well-played. I’m not sure if you were meaning to write about the past or the present, but for me it is so utterly relevant in the present that that’s how I read it.

    • Thanks very much. It is about the present and the situation I currenlty see in my home town but the photo seemed to have more character than anything else that came up in my image searches. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Writing Prompt:Compliments « bardicblogger

  5. Pingback: Writing Prompt – Game | bardicblogger

Leave a Reply

