Write from the Highest Heights


ONLY THE BRAVE NEED APPLY!

Sometimes creative writing is like getting lost in the woods with only a long piece of string to guide you back out. Some people plan out all their work. I’ve tried this and you miss experiencing the bravest sort of writing:

Writing with No Direction

Forest

Image via Wikipedia


This is like setting off on a journey with no road map and only a vague idea of where you’re going. It sounds like lunacy! In a way it is. You can get lost, have to turn around, navigate your way back and then set off again.

But it’s damn good fun and I’ve got the best feedback from these sort of stories. Many writing books will advise against this and I can understand why but it’s the true essence of creative writing:

Exploration, journey, adventure.

So while I’ve tried the planning, organized, learning my craft option, I’ll still always favour braving out the wilderness, venturing out into the depths of inspiration and curiosity and waiting out for the next part of the story to unfold in my mind.

It’s not for the faint-hearted but once you’ve done it once you’ll love the experience.

7 thoughts on “Write from the Highest Heights

  1. I love “braving out the wilderness” as you put it. I rarely start my creative writing projects with a fully laid out plan. That I save for essays and such. My creative side needs freedom and no (or few) limits. I just start with an idea of what I want, and let it grow from there. When I’m asked by die-hard organizers, “how do you keep the whole thing coherent and flowing nicely without a detailed plan?” I say, “I don’t. That’s what the editing stage is for.”

    So, thumbs up to this post. I fully agree.

    • Thanks Kim. I’ve tried the planning thing and I found I need more freedom than that in order to create stories. I can still do it with planning but it feels very flat in comparison with my spontaneous stuff.

  2. Pingback: Deal Grater » One- or Two-Week Creative Writing or Theatre Camp

  3. My right brain craves this, my left brain resists it. I am probably most successful when the left brain points me in a certain direction and then steps back. I find inspiration comes for me often comes from stuff working in my subconscious and then bubbling up; you’ve made me realize that being open to one’s self-conscious is like being open to braving the wilderness.

  4. Pingback: Set & Setting | Chapin City Blues

  5. Pingback: The Perils of Being Too Organized « bardicblogger

Leave a Reply

