The Perils of Being Too Organized


Organization is one of those buzz words people frequently use to make people more goal-focused, like productivity, motivation or success.

It’s easy to get sucked into the ORGANIZATION TRAP

It usually begins small, with a calendar (to stop you forgetting things) or a desire to work towards achieving something (usually after comments such as `what are you doing with your life?’) and then slowly and surely it spirals into a schedule or a time-orientated lifestyle.

`Why’s this a problem?’  you might ask.

It’s not, at least until organizing becomes pressurizing and scheduling. It really depends on your personality. Some people are super-motivated, get up every morning, exercise, write and run forward onto the day.

I’m more of a, force myself away from my comfortable bed, take ages to get going, work really hard with some distant, foggy goal in mind, person. I take advantage of impetus and nudge myself to get on with it when I’m being too lazy.

So I recently took down my calendar, decided to forget my beliefs about time limits and changed my motivational white board for a push-pin notice board so I can make use of my favourite writing technique:

SCRIBBLING DOWN RANDOM IDEAS and then forgetting about them. all the while trying to keep my novel-writing somewhere at the back of my mind

I’ve recently come to the conclusion that much of creative writing comes from the unconscious mind and that we need to allow it time to breath and bring up the ideas randomly.

Sure I could spend my life crafting scenes, driving to get better and better, (I probably will try to anyway) but I also want to keep my sanity and so maybe time-pressuring and extreme motivation techniques aren’t for me.

IT’S ONLY AFTER MUCH STRAYING OFF THE PATH I REALISE I WAS ON THE RIGHT PATH ANYWAY. I DON’T KNOW. MAYBE MUCH OF IT CAME FROM SELF-DOUBT, WHICH CAN THROW YOU INTO WANDERING BLINDLY DOWN OTHER PEOPLE’S PATHS IN CASE THEY’RE RIGHT AND YOU’RE WRONG.

Or maybe sometimes you just need to take away all the signposts and let yourself fumble around in the darkness until it becomes clear.

So here’s to the motivated but unorganized life.

WHO’S WITH ME?

5 thoughts on “The Perils of Being Too Organized

  1. HA ha, I’m with you! lol – it sounds like we think alike! Between you and me I don’t think many good writers come out of the “organized, rigorous, I write a hundred thousand words a day like a robot” lifestyle. I mean, there are some good writers like that but not the majority. I don’t think that type of writing leaves much room for creativity or even much room for thinking even, lol. Most of the really good writers (although I can think of a couple) don’t spit out 5 books a year like some people can. I think you need to give yourself time for things to develop, for your ideas to breath. To give life to things, not cramp them in between the 100,000 words you wrote yesterday and the 100,000 words you wrote today and will write every day for practically the rest of your life.

    • Thanks. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks like this. I tried the writing every day or having a plan stuff and it doesn’t work at all for me. It worked for a while and then I ended up with writer’s block. I’ve decided I need some thinking space to give ideas time to grow rather than more discipline. When I’m inspired I write and write and write. When I’m not I don’t write. That seems to be just the way it is. x

  2. Pingback: i disagree | laurenhowell

Leave a Reply

