Day 19 – The Blue Planet


Today’s prompt from Writing.com is:

"The Blue Marble" is a famous photog...

Image via Wikipedia

In all or any of it’s forms or uses- What does the sea mean to you?

I was never much of a water-baby and never have been. I can swim perfectly fine but still have a fear of deep water. The longest I’ve been at sea is a few hours, when crossing over from Holyhead to Larne (N.Ireland) by ferry.

The most enjoyable thing about travelling by sea is looking over the side of the ferry (not too far over – I don’t want to fall in!) and wondering what’s under there. I imagine all sorts of giant, mythological creatures lurking beneath the surface.

The sea sort of humbles me. It’s so vast and covers more of our planet than land. The great BBC documentary `The Blue Planet‘ with Sir David Attenborough is one of the most striking explorations of the oceans of our world.

BBC Earth Playlist

Beautiful and highly recommended for anyone who hasn’t watched it.
Still, I’d think I’d rather be on land, myself!

Related articles

Leave a Reply

