The Unseen Battle (A Soliloquy) – 100 Words


 The writing prompt over at Velvet Verbosity is MYTH so here’s my 100 Words for this week. It’s a fictional soliloquy.

The Unseen Battle

noir

Image by _boris via Flickr

They tell myths of me, the great warrior, fearsome and bold. Yet they know nothing of my origins. I had started out peaceful but violence and anger has

become my world. Rage has become my master and I a tormented demon of war trawling the battlefields for blood.

 Nights spent in bed, shaking and frenzied, dying and afraid; people talk lightly of it now but they don’t understand. They don’t know how it feels fighting from your bed, alone and crazed as your mind slips into the abyss of insanity that sickness brings. The memory of it stays with you.

Copyright (c) bardicblogger / Teri Montague 2011. All rights reserved.

15 thoughts on “The Unseen Battle (A Soliloquy) – 100 Words

  1. Pingback: Monologue thirteen | Trueconviction

    • It’s about how difficult a long, intense sickness can be and how even the strongest people can become very ill and have to fight a very different kind of battle from the one’s we face in every day life. I do picture it as a medieval warrior, who has not fallen in battle but has fought an illness that was tougher than any battle they ever faced before. They find themselves facing their mortality from a more weakened position than they are used to.

      Thanks for stopping by and reading my soliloquy. x

  2. I agree with Tara. It’s like one of Arthur’s night or maybe a Crusader have a confessional dream. Cool feel. Like the last two lines a lot.

    • Thanks Lance. I struggled condensing this one into the 100 words as I wanted it to be longer, but I did have a picture in my mind of a big warrior with a sword, when writing this.

      Thanks for stopping by.

    • Thanks very much Jamie. It’s something I’ve experienced myself a few times and it’s not something I’ll forget quickly. I’m glad you liked the blog name and theme. 🙂

  3. I really enjoyed this. The possible 2 ways of looking at it: literally as a warrior falling in battle and also as someone reaching the end of their days, fighting against a wasting sickness

    good job!

    visiting from 100 words

    • I’m glad you picked up on the dual possibilities within this. I deliberately intended it so that the character could be anybody in this situation, whether it be an ancient warrior or someone in the present day.

      Thanks.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

