Symbiotic Acrostic Poetry


Today I wanted to share a new poetry form with you:

SYMBIOTIC ACROSTIC POETRY

This poetry form was created by writing.com member PatrickB and is an acrostic with a difference.

The Attraction

Image via Wikipedia

A symbiotic acrostic poem (SAP) is a detailed and challenging word-play showing the interconnectedness of two to four concepts, items, expressions, or subjects.

Quote used with permission from PatrickB. © Copyright 2010 PatrickB (UN:pabernardy8 at Writing.Com). All rights reserved.
 

It’s a very interesting and unique poetry form that requires the poet to
understand the relationship between subjects and has no restrictions with regards to rhythm or rhyme. For a full detailed explanation of the SAP poetry form visit Symbiotic Acrostic Poetry .

Here’s my first SAP attempt:

Mind Symbiotic Heart

My mind, it hides in dark recesses
Introverted and inquisitive
Never-ending, it asks questions,
Day and night.

So much mind and so much heart,
Yet they conflict.
My will and my flesh at odds.
Body and mind in harmony.
It’s my mind and heart that are apart.
Outside the pattern but connected.
Timed and timeless both at once.
Idiotic intelligence,
Cool and warm, shallow yet deep.

Her heart, it hides in light fear.
Extroverted and accepting.
Asking no questions yet,
Realising
That day and night, eternally co-exist.

(c) Copyright bardic blogger / a thinker never sleeps / Teri Montague 2011


4 thoughts on “Symbiotic Acrostic Poetry

  1. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be actually something that I think I would never
    understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

